On the eastern coast of Canada are the numerous small, rocky islands lying off the coast of Labrador (part of the Province of Newfoundland), the Island of Newfoundland and the island Province of Prince Edward Island, the islands of Cape Breton (an integral part of Nova Scotia), Anticosti, and the Magdalen group (included in the Province of Quebec), and the islands of Grand Manan and Campobello (part of the Province of New Brunswick) in the Bay of Fundy. The Island of Newfoundland is 42,734 square miles in area, Prince Edward Island 2,184 square miles, Cape Breton 3,970 square miles and Anticosti 3,043 square miles. Fishing activities off these eastern islands are important, but agriculture on Prince Edward Island and mining on Cape Breton are the chief occupations of the inhabitants.

Manitoulin Island (1,068 square miles in area), the Georgian Bay islands in Lake Huron, and the Thousand Islands group in the St. Lawrence River at its outlet from Lake Ontario are the more important islands of the inland waters.

Table 6 lists the islands in Canada having an area of over 2,000 square miles.

Island	Area	Island	Area
Arctic Ocean— Baffin. Victoria. Ellesmere. Banks. Devon. Melville. Southampton. Prince of Wales. Axel-Heiberg. Somerset.		Arctic Ocean—concluded Ellef Ringnes. Cornwallis Amund Ringnes. Atlantic Ocean— Newfoundland. Cape Breton. Anticosti (Gulf of St. Lawrence) Prince Edward.	2,660 2,027 42,734 3,970
Prince Patrick King William Bylot	5,106	Pacific Ocean— Vancouver	12,408

6.—Areas of Principal Islands

## Section 2.—Political Geography

Politically, Canada is divided into ten provinces and two 'territories'. Each of the provinces is sovereign in its own sphere, as set out in the British North America Act (see pp. 40-60 of the 1942 Year Book), and as new provinces have been organized they have been granted political status equivalent to that of the original provinces. Yukon and the Northwest Territories with their boundaries of to-day are administered by the Federal Government. The characteristics of each of the provinces and of the territories are reviewed below.

Newfoundland.—The Island of Newfoundland lies across the Gulf of St. Lawrence and is the most easterly part of Canada. It is separated from the coast of Labrador by the Strait of Belle Isle, 11 miles across at its narrowest point, and from Cape Breton Island by Cabot Strait, 70 miles wide. It is triangular in shape, the three sides being about 320 miles long, and has an area of 42,734 square miles. Labrador, which, with the Island, constitutes the Province of Newfoundland, is on the mainland and has an area of 112,000 square miles.

The Island of Newfoundland enjoys a temperate climate with cool summers, mild winters and evenly distributed rainfall. The climatic conditions of Labrador are more severe.

63207 - 2